Mike Glyer
File 770
January 8, 2019

Gregory Benford, science fiction author and astrophysicist, is the 2019 winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award is bestowed for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. This award is in recognition of Benfordís body of work, including his 32 novels, over 218 short stories, and many non-fiction articles.

Benford will receive the award on Friday, May 24 at opening ceremonies during Balticon 53, the 53rd Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention. Balticon and the Robert A. Heinlein Award are both managed and sponsored by The Baltimore Science Fiction Society.


Gregory Benford

Robert A. Heinlein Award

Mike Glyer